Technology use in and outside of schools

January 12, 2011 at 5:16 pm 2 comments

Like much of the country, we’ve been plagued with miserable weather.  This morning when I arrived at the office, I had a large box of grant paperwork, my purse and my laptop computer to carry into the office.  I normally park at the far end of the parking lot but toting all of this the longer distance given the freezing fog was -well let’s say less than attractive.  So I pulled up to the door and unloaded everything before taking my normal parking spot out in the hinterlands.

As I headed to the office empty-handed, I was struck by a feeling of nakedness.  I rarely go anywhere without toting my laptop.  It is my lifeline.  It is half my brain.  I can hardly function without it.  So walking along, especially heading into work without the extra baggage was a very unnatural feeling.

I couldn’t help but be struck by the irony of the importance of technology in my world.  I remember the first computer we had at home.  It was a Commodore B128–remember Commodore Computers?  I believe this was their business model.  At that time, the hardware was large, the machines were slow, and quite frankly you couldn’t do very much on them if you didn’t want to program them yourself.  The long and short of it is, that I can actually remember thinking to myself,  “Hmph computers…  That will be a nonevent in my life.”  LOL

Fast forward to 2010.  What changed?  How have I become so dependent on a tool that looked useless to me when I was first introduced to it?  The answer is obvious.  Like most technologies, the computer evolved.  It is better, faster, cheaper, smaller etc.  But most importantly, I found AUTHENTIC uses for this tool that has enriched my life.  I would venture to guess that most persons in the business world would tell that computer technologies are indispensable in their worlds.

OK, so I’m finally to the point of my post.  If computers and related technologies are arguably indispensable for life in the 21st century and if schools are in the business of preparing kids for their future lives, why are computers (and related technologies) generally considered nice to have but optional in the daily educational activities of students?

Entry filed under: Education. Tags: , , , .

Kevin Honeycutt–I need my teachers to learn. Social Networking–Cautiously Getting Started

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stevewyckoff  |  January 13, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I can relate completely. I’ve recently began using speech to text software so that when I input now I speak it rather than type it. Yesterday I had to charge my wireless Bluetooth headset so I took it off the charge. While it was off I felt like I could hardly function. Responding to e-mails by typing seem completely unnatural. I had that same feeling you did of being, “naked.” And I’ve only been using this software for about a month. What will it be like 10 years from now?

    Reply
  • 2. Elaine Farres  |  January 13, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Deb- Enjoyed your blog. I totally agree with you. Where would we be without technology. Lucky for me I have been spoon-fed a little at a time.
    With our curriculum at the Learning Centers, it is imperative to use technology. The classrooms sure have changed over the past decade! I would have a very hard time without my computer and the informational highway.
    What’s left? Educators must have the savvy to braid it into relevant curriculum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers


